Mesmerised by Cruachan – The Fianna’s Rendition

 Hello all! Hope you have had a good start to the new year. A tad late, ain’t I? Sorry for the disappearance!

irish folk music

So the reason I could not sit without posting today is this song or this tune that seems to have drowned me. I am no music expert but music is so central to my life, and my choice of music largely depends on my mood.  I have found it hard to express anything about it and it remains a sensory experience that is very personal.  

So last time anything had me this spellbound is when I had a heard Rufus Wainwright’s Hallelujah! Or Beethoven’s Moonlight’s Sonata, again I don’t understand is but it was as if my flesh was infused with it!

So the original song is by Cruachan – The Fianna. Now they are Celtic Metal band, so it is not exactly my sound. But in this rendition here for Emirates Airlines Ireland promotion it just switches to an entirely new level. No seriously! But I think the Celtic comes across more beautifully and prominently in this one than the original.

So, is this beautiful or what? I think this appeals deep within to what they say is the collective conscious that flows through us all!

I can now see the Celtic connections in the melody connected with Paris. See like in this one… Needless to say, I am definitely going to explore more of the Irish folk music.

Has any song, sonata or any kind of music had this effect on you? What was it?

Leave a comment